Classification of Headache

The most recognized classification for headache is from the International Headache Society. The International Classification of Headache Disorders (ICHD) is an in-depth hierarchical classification of headaches containing explicit diagnostic criteria for headache disorders. They classify headaches into primary, secondary, cranial neuralgias and primary facial pain as outlined below:

  • Primary Headaches.
  • Migraine Headaches.
  • Tension-type headache.
  • Cluster Headaches.
  • Other primary headaches.
  • Secondary Headaches.
  • Headache attributed to head and/or neck trauma - Cervicogenic Headaches.
  • Acute post-traumatic headache.
  • Chronic post-traumatic headache.
  • Acute headache attributed to whiplash injury.
  • Chronic headache attributed to whiplash injury.
  • Exercises and acupuncture can help with the management of headaches.

Book Online


Call us at 01293529090 or  click here  to make a booking online or email us at for more information.